Seven Last Words: A Lenten Reflections

These are the last phrases that our Savior Jesus Christ uttered before he died on the cross. I will try to give some explanation, so that you can used it for reflection during this Lenten season.

“Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do.” (Luke 23:34)”

If we will look at this closely we can see in the midst of Jesus Christ excruciating suffering he remembers us. In God’s mercy, He ask for our forgiveness. Jesus christ unconditional love is shown by giving up his own life for our own sake. He bore our sins and died on the cross.

“Truly, I say to you, today you will be with me in Paradise.” (Luke 23:43)”

Jesus Christ said this words to one criminal who recognized him and felt that Jesus was treated unjustly. For me I see this as a great promise for mankind. If we admit our sins, turn into God and ask for forgiveness, we’ll be with him in eternal life.

He said to his mother, “Woman, behold your son!” Then he said to the disciple, “Behold your mother!” (John 19:26-27)”

It is hard to watched your own son died on the cross, but for the prophecy and for us to be save mother Mary take all God’s plan even if it means that she will lose his only son. We can see Jesus attachment here to us, because he once become human.

“My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” (Matthew 27:46)”

I can really say that God’s love for us is amazing even his only begotten son had to experience this pain and suffering. we can’t blame Jesus because he is human at that time and feeling the pain as horrible as that will make him really cried his heart out.

“I am thirsty!” (John 19:28)”

Jesus is not thirsty for bodily fluid although he is human at that time, but his message here implies that he is thirsty to fulfill the scripture which is saving you and me. Jesus yearns that we all go back to him and turn away from sins. Nothing is too late, if we start today.

“It is finished!” (John 19:30)”

when I watched the movie Passion of Christ I couldn’t help but cry, as I see him being mocked and being crucified by those people he was trying to save. He uttered this words to express relief that he already save us. He had done so much for you and me.Haven’t you felt him in your heart?

“Father, into thy hands I commit my spirit.” (Luke 23:46)

He puts his life in the hands of God the father and he wants us to do the same. Do good to others and live your life with God, walk with him and do not fear nor worry for when your time came, you will be with him in eternal life.

I want to share you a prayer that my father thought me. It is an act of contrition but of different version. I would say that I’m deeply move when I hear it from him.

ACT OF CONTRITION

Forgive me my sins O Lord,

Forgive me my sins,

The sins of my youth,

The sins of my age,

The sins of my soul,

The sins of my treacherous body,

The sins by which frailty I have committed,

My presumptive and crying sins,

My idle sins,

My serious and deliberate and voluntary sins,

The sins I know,

The sins I do not know,

the sins I have labored so long to conceal from others and which are hidden from my own memory.

Let me be absolve from all my offenses and deliver from the bunch of evil, through life death and passion of our Lord Jesus Christ.

In the named of Jesus, Mary Joseph Amen.