COHABITATION is it really the way to know your partner?

I got an impression that cohabitation is now becoming a worldwide trend. More and more people are practicing this for different reasons. However, many people are divided about whether or not cohabitation should be practice before getting married. Being a part of the conservative few I have my different opinion in this matter, but I have nothing against those who practice this. I will try to evaluate this issue fairly and objectively by citing pros and cons.

To people who favors this, cohabitation becomes their basis for gauging compatibility if their partner has what it takes to be married or not, If not they can easily break up with their partner without seeking legal help or religious permission. Others are practicing this while waiting to be financially stable before settling down. Here they will save money, time and effort if they are together. It is cheaper than keeping up two places. Another thing is it offers a lot of financial benefits i.e avoiding paying higher income taxes. Moreover, to youth cohabitation is appealing because they think that  is better than getting married, they thought that marriage is just a piece of paper that doesn’t mean anything, believing that everything will end up in divorce. Additionally, it is  better for same-sex couples which leaves them no option.

In contrast, if you are living together the chance of getting tired with each other is likely to happen. You feel that you don’t have much space and tend to argue about domestic issues, The society often looks down upon this people. It also lower the chances to be walk down the aisle. Studies also shown that 11 percent more women who are in cohabiting relationships had experience physical abuse than those women who are in married relationships. They also states that education plays a huge role in cohabitation. The more educated someone is, the less likely they will cohabit. Those who cohabit also report a lower marital satisfaction rate and a higher behavioral problem rate. Not surprisingly, according to  surveys by Waite 20 percent of cohabiting women reported they had secondary sex partners, while only 4 percent of married women reported they did. Despite of all the disadvantage  more people choose to take this path rather than to get married.

In my opinion , I suggest that you think before you make this big decision, Once you move in one house with your partner and all things fall apart, it will be really hard for you to leave the said relationship. It is not easy to forget all you have been through together.

Finally, You might say I should think outside the box, but for me tying the knot is really important. Everyday will be a learning and discovering experience but it is better when you are inside the sanctity of marriage . Being married is another phase in life that I think both of you will enjoy. It will show how much you really love your partner as you discover his weakness and strength. We can’t say what the future holds for the two of you. Of course there will be instances that you will not go along together but at the end of the day, you will realize the importance of each other and the sanctity of marriage. You will try to work everything as a good couples. There is a vow that is usually said during the wedding day

I, (name), take you, (name), to be my [opt: lawfully wedded] (husband/wife), my constant friend, my faithful partner and my love from this day forward. In the presence of God, our family and friends, I offer you my solemn vow to be your faithful partner in sickness and in health, in good times and in bad, and in joy as well as in sorrow. I promise to love you unconditionally, to support you in your goals, to honor and respect you, to laugh with you and cry with you, and to cherish you for as long as we both shall live.

I (name), take you (name) to be my (husband/wife), my partner in life and my one true love. I will cherish our union and love you more each day than I did the day before. I will trust you and respect you, laugh with you and cry with you, loving you faithfully through good times and bad, regardless of the obstacles we may face together. I give you my hand, my heart, and my love, from this day forward for as long as we both shall live.

I think this word is enough to tell you why it is important to be married. The union between the man and woman, should be blessed by God.